Skip to content
Study & Save

International students and the discount

The rules Amazon publishes say nothing about where you are from. They say a great deal about which Amazon you are shopping on, and that is the distinction that decides this.

By Stephen V.Published

The short answer

Amazon's published eligibility for Prime for Young Adults names two things — being 18-24 or being a higher-education student. It does not name nationality, citizenship or visa status. What decides your case in practice is the marketplace: this site covers amazon.com, the US site, and nothing else.

That distinction does more work than it looks like it does, so it is worth being exact. An international student at a US university, shopping on amazon.com, is reading the same rules as everybody else on this site. A student in another country shopping on their local Amazon is looking at a different program with different prices and different terms — one we do not verify and will not quote at you.

Prime for Young Adults is a membership program created for 18-24-year-olds and higher-education students
— About Prime for Young Adults (Amazon help)

Figures on this page checked against Amazon’s own pages on — Amazon's About Prime for Young Adults help page. How we check.

What the published rules actually turn on

Amazon's published criteria, checked August 11, 2026, against the things people assume are criteria.
QuestionIs it in Amazon's rules?
Are you 18-24, or a higher-education student?Yes. This is the rule.
Can you verify with ID or enrollment evidence?Yes. Three student options, or government ID.
Are you a US citizen?Not stated as a requirement anywhere we can read.
Do you hold a particular visa?Not stated as a requirement.
Is your .edu address American?Not stated. The rule is about being enrolled, not about the domain's country.
Which Amazon marketplace are you using?This is the real question. Programs and prices differ per marketplace.

The right-hand column is deliberately conservative. "Not stated as a requirement" is not the same as "explicitly permitted", and we are not going to upgrade one into the other — why that distinction runs through this whole site. What we can say is that we have read Amazon's eligibility pages and no nationality condition appears on them.

The three practical questions for a student on a US campus

  1. Is your Amazon account an amazon.com account? Accounts are per-marketplace. If yours was created on another country's Amazon, that is the program you are enrolled against, whatever your current address says.
  2. Can you produce one of the accepted forms of evidence? For the student route Amazon names the signup form, a .edu address, or proof of enrollment such as a student ID or an official acceptance letter for the upcoming term. For the age route it names government ID.
  3. Which route runs longer for you? If you are 18-24 and enrolled, you qualify twice and the route you choose sets your expiry date.

Question two is where most international students expect a problem and usually do not have one. A passport is on Amazon's own list of accepted age-route documents, and it is the document an international student is most certain to hold.

Students walking together outside a university building

Prime for Young Adults

The same rate, the same six months

6-month at no cost, then $7.49 a month on amazon.com — the US program this site covers.

#ad — this is a tagged Amazon link. If you sign up through it we may earn a flat referral fee, at no cost to you. How this site is funded.

What we do not cover, and why we say so

We do not write about the UK, Canadian, Indian, Australian, Irish or any other national version of this program. Prices, program names, trial lengths and terms differ per marketplace, and quoting US figures at a reader shopping elsewhere would be actively misleading rather than merely unhelpful.

A great many pages do exactly that — they take the US price, translate the currency, and publish. If you are shopping on a non-US Amazon, go to that marketplace's own student or young-adult page and read the figures there. It is the only source that is right for you, and it takes less time than reading a translated guess.

Studying abroad for a term or a year

A common case with an honest non-answer. If you keep an amazon.com account and a US billing arrangement while you are away, nothing about your eligibility changes on paper — the rules are about age and enrollment, not location. What changes is whether the benefits are worth anything to you: delivery is the benefit that carries this membership, and delivery to an address on another continent is not a benefit amazon.com provides.

So the question is not eligibility, it is value. If you are away for a full year, look at your renewal date and decide deliberately rather than paying for delivery you cannot receive. Canceling and rejoining has one important catch worth reading first: the trial is one-time.

Common questions

Can international students get Prime Student?

Amazon's published eligibility names being 18-24 or a higher-education student. It does not state a nationality or citizenship requirement. What matters in practice is that you are on amazon.com, the marketplace this site covers.

Do I need a US .edu email address?

Not necessarily. A .edu address is one of three student-route options Amazon names; the others are the signup form and proof of enrollment such as a student ID or acceptance letter. And if you are 18-24 you can use the age route instead.

Can I verify with a passport?

Yes, for the age route. Amazon names passport, driving license, identity card as acceptable, and a passport is the document most international students definitely hold.

Does this apply to Amazon in my home country?

No. Programs, prices and terms differ per marketplace. This site covers amazon.com only, and we do not quote US figures at readers shopping elsewhere.

What if I am studying abroad for a year?

Your eligibility on paper does not change, but the delivery benefit that justifies the membership will not reach you. Treat it as a value decision and check your renewal date before the year starts.

Prime for Young Adults

Ready to start?

Six months at no cost, then half the regular Prime price. Cancel anytime.

#ad — this is a tagged Amazon link. If you sign up through it we may earn a flat referral fee, at no cost to you. How this site is funded.