Alexa+ and the membership
This one arrived on the benefit list recently enough that most published guides to the student discount have never mentioned it.
The short answer
Amazon lists "Alexa+ is free with Prime" on its own Prime benefit page, described as "Get full access to our smartest, most helpful AI assistant yet". Because Prime for Young Adults grants full Prime benefits, it reaches this membership too. It is not on the program's own benefit help page, which is why almost no student-discount article mentions it.
Two provenance notes first, because they decide how much weight this page deserves. The claim comes from Amazon's Prime-wide benefit reference, not from the help page that enumerates Prime for Young Adults benefits — we keep those two sources separate on purpose. And marketing pages rotate faster than help pages, so this entry carries its own check date and gets re-read rather than assumed.
Alexa+ is free with Prime — Get full access to our smartest, most helpful AI assistant yet
Figures on this page checked against Amazon’s own pages on — Amazon's Explore Prime benefits page. How we check.
What Amazon does and does not say
The published sentence is short, and everything useful is in what it omits. Here is the split, because the gap between these two columns is where every inaccurate article about this benefit lives.
| Amazon states | Amazon does not state |
|---|---|
| Alexa+ is free with Prime. | A price for Alexa+ without Prime, on this page. |
| Members get full access to it. | What "full access" excludes, if anything. |
| It is Amazon's "smartest, most helpful AI assistant yet". | Which devices, regions or account types it reaches. |
We are not going to fill in the right-hand column from other people's articles. If you want current device and availability detail, Amazon's own Alexa pages carry it, and they carry it in a form that is accurate on the day you read it — which is more than any third-party summary can promise.
Why it is worth a student's attention anyway
Set the assistant itself aside for a moment. The reason this line matters is structural: it is the clearest recent evidence that Amazon is loading more into the Prime bundle rather than less, and this membership buys that bundle at half price. When people ask whether the discounted rate is "the same Prime", the answer keeps being yes — including the parts Amazon added after the rename.
The practical read is simpler still. If you were considering paying for an AI assistant subscription separately, check whether the one bundled here does what you need before you pay twice. That is the same test we apply to Music Unlimited and Prime Video channels: a bundled version of something you already pay for is worth far more than a benefit you would never have bought.

Prime for Young Adults
The whole bundle, at half the regular rate
Six months at no cost, then $7.49 a month against $14.99 for the same Prime benefits.
#ad — this is a tagged Amazon link. If you sign up through it we may earn a flat referral fee, at no cost to you. How this site is funded.
How to check whether your account actually has it
- Sign in to the Amazon account carrying the membership — not a second household account.
- Open Amazon's Prime benefits page from your account rather than from a search result, so you see the version tied to your account and region.
- Look for Alexa+ in the benefit list. If it is there, it is on your account. If it is not, it has not reached your account yet.
- Do not pay for an assistant subscription until you have run that check. It is the cheapest two minutes on this page.
That sequence is deliberately about your account rather than about ours. Amazon rolls features out unevenly, and a benefit that appears on a marketing page is not automatically live everywhere on day one. The page tells you what Amazon offers; your account tells you what you have.
What we cannot tell you
We cannot tell you what Alexa+ costs on its own, whether every feature is included, which hardware it requires, or how long the "free with Prime" framing lasts. None of that is published on the pages this site re-verifies, and inventing it would be worse than leaving the gap visible. Why we draw the line there, and the sourcing standard behind it.
Common questions
Is Alexa+ included with Prime for Young Adults?
Amazon lists "Alexa+ is free with Prime" on its Prime benefit page, and this membership grants full Prime benefits, so it reaches members here too. It is not named on the program's own help-page benefit list.
How much does Alexa+ cost without Prime?
Amazon does not publish a standalone price on the benefit page we verify against, so we do not state one. Check Amazon's own Alexa pages for current pricing.
Why is Alexa+ not on the Prime Student benefit list?
Because that help page enumerates the program's own benefits, while Alexa+ appears on the Prime-wide benefit reference. Different pages, different provenance, so we label them separately rather than merging them.
Do I need an Echo device for it?
Amazon does not state a device requirement on the page we verify against, so neither do we. Its Alexa pages carry the current device detail.
Prime for Young Adults
Ready to start?
Six months at no cost, then half the regular Prime price. Cancel anytime.
#ad — this is a tagged Amazon link. If you sign up through it we may earn a flat referral fee, at no cost to you. How this site is funded.